Mittens for Lions

Often the younger kids at the school I work at forget /loose a mitten or two.Mittens and yarn

Just as often they only have one pair of thin gloves that just don’t dry out by second recess. So I’m using my odd balls of yarn to make mittens (and some scarves).

 

little scarves

Our mascot is the Lion. I’m making mittens to keep those little paws warm!

I found a nice basic pattern that I’ve used as inspiration.  The kids I’m making mittens for are 7 – 10 yrs, so in the pattern the children’s is too small and the ladies is too big.  I have small hands so I’ve been just using my hand as a measurement and …well… eye balling it from there.  What I really liked about this pattern was the idea of a longer cuff. Playing in the snow is much more fun when your mitten is securely tucked in your sleeve and no snow gets in.

Regardless of what pattern you use I highly recommend a stitch marker!! You can buy them or use a safety pin or even a contrasting piece of yarn.  (mine is near the  !  in the photo below)long cuff

At the moment I only had this light blue one. It would have been better with a different colour for this mitten.  I only had that one left 😦  they are like bobby pins  and socks…. they mysteriously disappear!

Leave a Reply

