Squares for my mood blanket.

I am finally going to make a mood blanket. I picked the colours (see my first post) and now for the design.

To find “the” granny square I happily went to Pinterest and started a new board, Granny Squares.  I needed to find a square that was not to fiddly to make, yet not boring. One that was interesting and looked good with multiple colours.

I’m mostly sure that I’m going to use this swirly square. I wasn’t sure about it at first since I needed four colours and I had originally thought I’d only document 3 moods each week.

My next aspect to decide is what size of square? Four rounds or three rounds?

mood blanket trial squares

Regardless of which I pick I’ll have to make something to encourage the squares to “square up”.  Maybe it’s because the smaller one isn’t finished; maybe it’s the different yarn but that plus the square being new to me they didn’t square up as well as the ones in the video.

I’m thinking of making (ok..getting my Hubby to make) this, once I decide on the size of my mood blanket’s squares. Not only will it encourage the right shape but it will keep my squares in order over the year.

The instructions can be found at Look What I Made

Leave a Reply

