My first amigurumi ~ Baymax from Big Hero 6

My first amigurumi !  I was so nervous. Would it turn out ok? Would he like it? Is it nerdy enough that my 17 yrs old nephew would like it or will he label it “just a stuffed toy”?

I know he really likes Disney movies and Big Hero 6 is one of his Big Hero 6 ~ Disney ~ 2014favourites but…

Amigurumi ~ The phrase itself really encompasses the entire knit and crocheted stuffed toy genre. The first part of the word means knit OR crochet (yes, both!) and the second part means stuffed doll/toy. Essentially, it means “knit/crocheted stuffed toy friend!” (source: Craftsy.com  What is Amigurumi? by Lisa Gutierrez )

20160430_141044

Following the pattern I found at Nicole’s Nerdy Knots wasn’t hard. It did take more concentration that I anticipated. I couldn’t watch t.v. and count rows/stitches 🙂 Stitch markers as a MUST.

Also, I found I tried to rush the assembly too much. I strongly recommend watching the tutorial video before assembling and watching it again as you put the pieces together.

Bayomax 1 (1)

Thank you to Nicole’s Nerdy Knots for this pattern and tutorial. My nephew loved it!

Patternhttp://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/baymax-2

Assembly tutorialhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eX4v4c_yLy0

 

 

6 thoughts on “My first amigurumi ~ Baymax from Big Hero 6”

Leave a Reply

