‘Shawl in a Ball’ a review of sorts

My first impression of the yarn was wondering if I received the wrong colour !! It’s my best guess that it is just how this ball of yarn was wrapped since a peek in the centre shows more purple.

Then, finding a pattern is not as easy as I thought it would be. So far the beginners patterns that I am interested in for this yarn on the Lion Brand site are “out of stock”.   But I really wanted to try this yarn. It’s soft and airy. I found this beautiful pattern by Crochet Kim. I’m excited to start and let you know how it turns out!

20160714_123629

So, it turns out that one ball is not quite enough for a shawl. Considering the price of one ball I expected it to be enough for a full shawl.  It does however, make a nice summer wrap or wide light scarf.

As for the colour… I never did get past my initial reaction. There’s far more faded grey-ish tones than purple in this ball. The over all effect for the wrap is nice but not what I expected from “Mindful Mauve”

Over all, the yarn and project is ok but not what I expected when the yarn is called ‘Shawl in a Ball.’ I’ve never wrote a review before (and not sure I will again) but I was so taken by the idea when I first read about this yarn .. that image I had just didn’t happen.

 

 

One thought on “‘Shawl in a Ball’ a review of sorts”

Leave a Reply

