Jack Skellington ~ C2C Blanket

Whew! I finished it in time! It took me most of my free time over the past 7 weeks. This Jack Skellington blanket is a gift for our son who is turning 16 very soon!

jack-skellyington-c2c-crochetstitchesbutterflykisses-1With the frequent colour changes I had a lot of ends to weave in. That got done as I worked the blanket simply because I couldn’t stand the mess!

I’m so glad that the inspiration to use the Corner to Corner pattern/stitch came to me because it was perfect for this project.  I don’t think I would have finished in time for my son’s birthday if I had done a traditional row by row pattern.  I wrote last month about making this pattern for the Jack blanket. For the edge; a straight stitch didn’t seem to go with the theme so I alternated between a single and a double stitch. It created a kind-of wonky, off beat edge.20170224_143902

Simply Soft by Caron was picked for the blanket because of the texture. I think if the texture wasn’t so important, I would have liked a ‘sturdier’ yarn for this big of a project.  Yet it is hard to feel any regret about my yarn choice. Caron’s Simply Soft is such a pleasure to hold for this many hours!

I’m often asked how long it takes to make.  I didn’t keep track of exactly how long it took me; I estimate that I was crocheting for around 70 hours. I also didn’t note how many balls of yarn I used!  (guess-timate 5 or 6 white and 2 or 3 black).  I do know that as with all my, blankets the spaces between the stitches are filled with love.

jack-skellyington-c2c-crochetstitchesbutterflykisses-3

Do I wait ’til his birthday to give it to him or shall I let him watch t.v. with it tonight?

nightmare-before-christmas
This blanket was inspired by Tim Burton’s movie.
3 thoughts on “Jack Skellington ~ C2C Blanket”

Leave a Reply

